top of page

Texturing (week 11)


This week was dedicated to mostly texturing the model. The unwrap was tricky as my model contains a large amount of curves and domes, I thank my lucky stars that I kept my design simple looking. I just tried to get the base colour down as best I could; once I di did that I moved on to getting the roughness map down, it looked at first that the main red part of the gun was made out of fine velvet, as the roughness map looked nothing like paint, to be fair we never actually looked at how painted metal reflects, until now, so I’m not going to beat myself up over this; any way one trip out with a rented camera and a despite search for painted metal later found that that painted metal doesn’t have small splattering inconsistences, it is in fact quite consistent, only a few light scratches and strokes are really visible. And while I’m not 100% sold on it, the main body looks far better than before.

Then came things like the meatless map which was incredibly easy to do, so nothing much to report there. I do feel that I want to go full grunge with this model, you know the feeling, add rot, blood, maybe some torn stickers? Make it look like it is trait out of a bloody fight to the death, maybe like the weapons from bioshock? The annoying thing is that it would be easy to do, however I do have to stay on brief, and this object is owned by a rich man, it needs to look clean and opulent.

However I am very tempted to redo this in the summer as a grunge piece, or at least do another design, not only to see how much I would improve by but to also to play with different themes, maybe a medieval gun? Or an arcane gun? Or a necromancer flesh gun monstrosity?

Maybe the ideas need work?


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page