top of page

Week 2 Modelling the Office

This week I did all of the modelling I needed!

Sadly I’m still quite mediocre at it; I’m thinking of having a private 3d project after this one to brush up my skills on it? Nothing complex, but a relaxing thing to make? Maybe a weapon from some of my D’n’D adventures or a redo of one of my first 3d models? This is because while I am not awful, I’m far from good enough for industry. By doing this personal project when I have time, as it can prepare me for the next project (a sentry turret I think?).

It will also be fun to get back to ZBrush and take my time learning how to bake normal maps better, but that will be another blog post for another day.

Back to the main topic at hand,

The thing I struggled with was reference; most of the reference was of lower quality and warped by perspective (not to mention TV cameras further warp the image) so what I produce also ended up getting changed slightly (something I had to compensate for quite a bit).

Now, in retrospect I should have made some blue prints for myself, I know a few of my friends did that with their assets. However my assets are relatively simple and small, so I just got the images and just did my best to compensate for the warping. That method was faster, however it meant that I constantly had to tweak the model and compare it to other reference I have to make sure it’s perfect. Part of me thinks if I had blueprints I could have got it pretty much correct first time round or at least need less iterations. I’m happy with the 3d models either anyway.

As a side note: we also put our models into the same scene just to make sure they are all to scale before putting it into engine, that way it stays to scale instead of us constantly having to rescale the objects over and over in engine and we could edit large scale issues as we see them. (I had to fix a few things, I think it was mainly my lamps being slightly too tall and my chair having a few issues)

(Extra)Group feedback:

I wanted to keep a small note on the group, they continue to be absolutely splendid to work with. our previous tri count estimations fell quite short (although not bad for the first time guessing). At least we know kind of how much some assets may cost for next time?

While I would have normally stick to the tri count like glue, it started to have a massive effect on the quality of my work.my work started to look unnecessarily low poly we had been only using ¼ of the total amount of tries available to us, so we agreed to increase the budget if needs must; and we can make sure we know how many tris we have left by inputting everything to the group spread sheet.

With all that noted down, I’m looking forward to next week, lots of unwrapping to get done!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page