top of page

Fears 'n' spheres


I did a texture sphere every day for the past working week.

“Why would you do that Becky?”

Simply put, I’m terrified of falling behind. Last year I struggled with a few things, but I felt very scared to ask; thankfully my confidence has improved since then, but my art hasn’t progressed as much as it could have.so this year I’m going to keep trying to do these small things just to push myself a little harder and get a bit braver.

I’m not going to expect to do it every week, sometimes work gets too much, or sometimes spheres just drive you a tad mad. But I think it’s a good first step. So without any more procrastination:

1)The first day I thought it would be an amazing idea to get into the deep end and to a texture of a crystal. I won’t lie when I say it was difficult. My friends and tutors gave me tips for next time (including roughing up some of those pesky cracks and adding white spits to represent micro fractures and adding more deep cuts and chips into the sphere.

2)The second day I tried to do a brass sphere with an engraving. However the detailing I did looked awful, it looked like it was coming out of the sphere then going in, maybe next time I’ll define it a bit better. I honestly believe it is my weakest sphere of the week.

3)Next is the Obsidian orb. It took 2 attempts and me constantly bothering a 3rd year to help to finish it, I never thought it would be so difficult to paint a shiny object, but I’m proud its done; and hey, next time I can do it twice as well for half the time!

4)Here I did a leather sphere, I tried out using custom brushes (as suggested by one of my tutors) as it would take less time to repaint the sphere and look much better, and to that I agree! (Although I could have worked on my values more, I went too crazy to early on with the texture brushes, but lesion -learned)

5)Lastly I did copper with rust, I think I nailed the colours however I did make it too dull and lower contrast so it resembles a smoky planet then a texture sphere.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page